Totally addictive charoset recipe

Because of some spur of the moment ideas I had, we decided to eat a Seder/Passover type meal this year, only I muffed the day and we did it today, not yesterday. But, it’s all good because of the spirit of it and all that (note to self: better prep for next year). The inspiration was totally from Elana’s Pantry, and her post on a paleo Passover.

One dish is charoset, the dish eaten in remembrance of the mortar for the bricks the Hebrew slaves made in Egypt. Elana mixed Sephardic (Spanish/Middle Eastern Jewish) and Ashkenazic (European Jewish) recipes for a wonderful dish. I, of course, had to add a twist on Elana’s admirable recipe, simply because I juiced the orange like the lemon, and didn’t want fighting over the pulp so I tossed it into the mix. Also, knowing my guys would love it, I made more of it than what she said, but the proportions weren’t quite doubled all the time.

3-4 Gala apples, peeled, cored, and cubed
3 c walnuts
Juice (and pulp) of an orange
1-2 Tbsp lemon juice
1ish tsp cinnamon
1 rounded cup craisins

Pulse all in a food processor until desired consistency. I think I did about 6 fairly quick pulses.

That’s it. Quick, easy, and we’ll be making it more than once a year. 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Paleo, Recipes

2 responses to “Totally addictive charoset recipe

  1. Sherry

    Amy, this looks absolutely YUMMY! I want to make it for Life Group tomorrow night, since our hostess has agreed to show us photos from her Spring Break trip to Israel, but I’m running out of time. Would it work to make it tonight, do you think? Or would the apples turn brown by the time it was served?

    • amy

      I think it would be okay overnight because of the lemon juice and the OJ. I kept it in the fridge overnight, and it didn’t seem to turn brown too badly.

Leave a Reply

