Paleo Persimmon Pudding

One of my favorite memories is collecting persimmons in the fall, then cleaning them and pulping them with my mom. Then, we’d make persimmon pudding for Thanksgiving dessert. It was delightful, and there are many fond memories. I have rarely had access to them since I have been married, however, and have never done much with them. Until early this fall at one of the last few farmer’s markets of the season. A nice gentleman was sharing space with his neighbor, who was a regular on our farmer’s market route. That gentleman was selling persimmons and persimmon pulp. The pulp was, understandably, quite a bit more expensive than the persimmons. Since I knew how to clean the persimmons and get pulp out of them, I got 4 containers of persimmons for the price of one container’s worth of pulp.

This was a nice afternoon’s worth of work to clean them and run them through the chinois, but worth it, it was. However, we had one minor problem. Mom’s persimmon recipe was made with all-purpose flour. Combine this with the fact that I try very much to avoid making gluten-free and/or paleo treats because they are much less nutritionally dense than our normal diet. So, I had no gluten-free flour and did not want to just make it gluten-free. I also try to avoid using almonds too much. So, I thought that I could try some coconut flour. The first version was a bit puckery and more like persimmon bars. And I didn’t make it again. Until my son asked for persimmon pudding for his eighth birthday. I fortunately wrote down what I thought I should do the next time I made it and went from there. This time, it was persimmon pudding perfection. It is still a little puckery because I do not want to put too much sugar in it, but it has a much better flavor and texture.

Without further ado, here is my recipe for Paleo Persimmon Pudding

3 cups persimmon pulp
3/4 cup sugar (may substitute maple sugar, but might want to cut down a bit on coconut milk)
2 eggs, room temperature
1/4 cup coconut flour
1 cup coconut milk
1/4 rounded tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 cup coconut oil or butter, melted
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda

Mix the wet ingredients together. Whisk in the dry ingredients. Pour into greased 9″ x 13″ baking dish. Bake in a 325* oven for 40 minutes.

20130323-193837.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

